A Stitch in Time – Mario.June2012

Posted on

This was another tough week for the world. Between bombings and shootings, it’s one of those moments that’s difficult to process… Surrealism and cultural distortion are a day-to-day occurrences now. I first noticed the world shifting around me in the Summer of 2012. The CG Project was beginning its second year. It was the beginning of an idea that would lead to my Dual World photo series.

It’s tough to remember how we survived it but I preserved some of the emotions we shared over the last few years through something I called Chain Corpse, a combination Chain Letter and Exquisite Corpse. It was a way for me to connect with people I respect about issues that plagued us all. I hope that you find some value in them now that some time has passed.

This image was made for a print exchange called Atlas in 2013.
This image was made for a print exchange called Atlas in 2013.

Mario – June 2012

If there’s one truth I live by today it’s that we each hold our own truths. It seems The Truth, The Whole Truth and Nothing But The Truth just isn’t enough anymore. I read online yesterday that Rodney King incited the Los Angeles riots of the 1990s. Today Roger Clemens, future-hall-of-famer, national hero and World Champion, was found not guilty of lying to Congress about using performance enhancing drugs. Tomorrow I’ll listen to a book about the changes that Cristobal Colon brought to the planet while Neil DeGrasse Tyson continues to dislodge its place from the center of the universe. What newfound truths will emerge tomorrow?

This is the future I wake up in everyday. One where we’re all the good guys, where we’re each the protagonist of our own thread of the truth. One, where we all shout in Real Time in hopes that someone will digest our truth and turn it into fertilizer that some kid in a basement can bring back to life with her idol hands and fertile mind. Who’s going to make sense of all this when all’s said and done?

Here’s where it gets interesting. I sent this entry to someone else who was gracious enough to respond, but before I post that mystery person’s piece of the puzzle, I’m giving you all a chance to respond to my piece. I’ll give you all this opportunity to contribute after each installment. Let see how this all plays out.

4 thoughts on “A Stitch in Time – Mario.June2012

    […] post below is a response to Fielden’s, which was a response to Mario’s from June of […]

    […] is a response to Sandy’s, which was a response to Fielden’s, which was a response to Mario’s from June of […]

    […] were responses to Sandy’s, which was a response to Fielden’s, which was a response to Mario’s from June of […]

    […] post below is the conclusion to A Stitch in Time, which is a response to Linda, Jennifer and Camille is a response to Mario and Arlen, which were […]

Leave a Reply

