Dual World: Arbor Day Park

Posted on Updated on

DualWorld006.Arbor Day Park

Dual World comes from W.E.B. DuBois’ concept of Double Consciousness. The title of the series is a play on the gaming term, dual wielding, for fighting with a weapon in each hand. The double exposure photos were made in-camera by shooting twice before advancing the film.

I shot Arbor Day Park in the field behind the home I grew up in. The park was built in 1993 and I took the photo 20 years later on an afternoon with especially hard shadows. I like this photo for the colors and textures that will always remind me of my home on Sunflower Lane.

I get my color film developed at CSW Film Systems; the best kept secret in town.

Leave a Reply

