Diverse Voices in Docs Deadline

Posted on Updated on

The Diverse Voices in Docs deadline is in two weeks! DVID is Kartemquin Films’ professional development fellowship for midwestern documentary filmmakers of color. I was lucky to be in the inaugural class and hope that some of my friends and collaborators will slide in behind me in true Buena Espalda fashion.

Image
Diverse Voices in Docs Fellows – Photo from Kartemquin Films

You may be asking what I got out of the experience. Aside from networking opportunities, mentorship and a sense of solidarity with other filmmakers, there are also tangible results. I’ve now submitted completed proposals to two funding sources (may not sound like much but it was a huge step for me) one of which received a standard rejection letter. The other application received face-to-face feedback from someone who had read my proposal because I went to a panel discussion that Justine Nagan moderated at The Chicago International Film Festival. Also, one of my classmates, Pamela Sherrod, received finding from ITVS for her film about grandparents that raise their grandchildren in the place of parents that can’t.

We won’t all receive funding right away but they’ve put us in a position to succeed and given us advice on what’s worked for them in the past. Something we each walked away with was a deeper understanding of our stories and 3-minute trailers that screened on our graduation day. Here’s mine.

You’re welcome to look over my application if you’re curious about how I got into the program. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

