Mid-August Harvest

Posted on Updated on

You haven’t heard from us in a while because we’ve been busy harvesting and canning all the veggies that’ve been growing in Our Three Gardens. There will be a post about that in the coming days. Today I’m going back to The Keeper’s Community Garden for some more tomatoes, so I’ve posted a video of our previous harvest, which was around the middle of August.

Now also seemed like a good time to revisit the beginnings of our little garden. Posted on May 1st, The Office Garden was the first episode of The Garden Chronicles this year. Lots of the little plants from this video didn’t make it into the ground because of the unusually cold spring but most of the survivors made it to The Keeper’s Garden.

While the mysteries of which plants are which will largely remain unsolved, a new problem of what to do with all this fruit has emerged. The same elements make up this puzzle; yellow pear, black cherry and Italian ice but now it’s an entirely different way of having to deal with the elements. It concerns me that questions that used to consume me only 4 months ago seem almost foreign to me now. Today, I don’t think I’ll even be able to pick out the different leaves because I’ll be too busy plucking fruit and tying up plants. I guess it’s a good problem to have though.

Leave a Reply

